Visioning

photography and digital scrapbooking

A Photo Series

1 Comment

Georgia Pines

Sometimes it is fun to alter your perspective. Looking left, right, up, or down can give you a new appreciation for the beauty in your immediate surroundings. So I’m beginning a Photo Series featuring ordinary scenes from my everyday life. I want to document this time in my life and add a little mystery to the ordinary.

The first subject is a grouping of pines on a small hill near my home. Usually I ignore them. But yesterday I saw the contrast between the size of the young and old pines, and the bit of autumn color breaking up the expanse of green. The sky was vivid blue. Working in Photoshop, I saw the photo looked good. But I wanted to add more character.

  • First, I ran Pioneer Woman’s ‘Lovely and Ethereal’ action, then cropped to square.
  • Next, I layered three textures from Shadowhouse Creations and set each to a different blend mode; soft light, multiply, and color dodge.
  • Finally, I adjusted one of the texture layers to 50% opacity.

There is no specific formula for working with textures. It is all about layering, blending, and sometimes masking until you find a look that is pleasing.

Author: Karen Chandler

Metal clay jewelry, nature photography, and digital scrapbooking are Karen's passions. She is mostly self-taught, enjoying the learning process as much as producing her works of art. Karen's jewelry features fine silver, copper, and bronze. She sculpts and refines metal clay, then kiln fires her pieces and polishes them to perfection. The process allows for exciting interpretations of symbols, shapes, textures, and combinations of metals. A long time user of Photoshop, Karen loves to create digital layouts with her photos. Her layouts and albums are a diary of sorts; documenting milestones, recording happy times, and celebrating her love of nature.

One thought on “A Photo Series

  1. Karen, this is exquisite and certainly worthy of being framed! You truly are a “digital” artist. Thanks for sharing the steps you took to achieve this masterpiece.