Visioning

photography and digital scrapbooking

Macro Tulips

9 Comments

Having great fun with my new Canon 100mm f2.8L IS Macro lens! Just in time for flowers, bugs and other nature subjects.

Here are two favorites from the first photo shoots. The red and pink tulips are new this year. My purple ones will be blooming in a few days.

Author: Karen Chandler

Metal clay jewelry, nature photography, and digital scrapbooking are Karen's passions. She is mostly self-taught, enjoying the learning process as much as producing her works of art. Karen's jewelry features fine silver, copper, and bronze. She sculpts and refines metal clay, then kiln fires her pieces and polishes them to perfection. The process allows for exciting interpretations of symbols, shapes, textures, and combinations of metals. A long time user of Photoshop, Karen loves to create digital layouts with her photos. Her layouts and albums are a diary of sorts; documenting milestones, recording happy times, and celebrating her love of nature.

9 thoughts on “Macro Tulips

  1. Karen,
    These photos are exquisite…absolutely breathtakingly beautiful!!! The detail that you have been able to capture with your 100mm lens is amazing and the lighting is perfect. I’m looking forward to seeing more . . .

    • Thanks so much, Joyce! My tulips are backlit in the morning and sidelit in the afternoon. I had to kneel in the dirt to get the perspective I wanted. But that is a small price to pay for getting the detail I love!

  2. Gorgeous Karen! I can see you are going to have lots of fun with this new lens! 🙂

  3. those are so gorgeous they take my breath. I wanna be like you when I grow up.

  4. LOL – thank you! What a sweet, touching comment, Joy!

  5. Wow, these are so beautiful, Karen. I especially love the light and colours in your first one. Congratulations on the new lens, I can see you’re going to have a lot of fun creating with it!

  6. Thank you, Cate! I am looking forward to the world of macro possibilities. Your wonderful photos have inspired me for months!