Visioning

photography and digital scrapbooking

Ohio Scenery

12 Comments

Two months ago, I visited my parents in northern Ohio. I was able to squeeze in a couple visits to secluded country roads; hoping to find photography subjects. These photos were handheld and taken somewhat under duress. I had to work fast to avoid being covered in dust when vehicles approached on unpaved roads!

Author: Karen Chandler

Metal clay jewelry, nature photography, and digital scrapbooking are Karen's passions. She is mostly self-taught, enjoying the learning process as much as producing her works of art. Karen's jewelry features fine silver, copper, and bronze. She sculpts and refines metal clay, then kiln fires her pieces and polishes them to perfection. The process allows for exciting interpretations of symbols, shapes, textures, and combinations of metals. A long time user of Photoshop, Karen loves to create digital layouts with her photos. Her layouts and albums are a diary of sorts; documenting milestones, recording happy times, and celebrating her love of nature.

12 thoughts on “Ohio Scenery

  1. Gorgeous photos! I especially like the first one of the farm house; great composition and texture. It totally reminds me of my great-grandmother’s house. Great memories!

    • Thanks, Tricia! So much to see on those little country roads. Animals, rustic buildings, ponds, trails, rolling hills. Next visit I hope to have more time for exploring and taking photos.

  2. Wow, these are amazing and I am drawn to the first one too. You should frame it!

  3. Great shot in the first photo, especially the angle of looking upward. I would say that dealing with a little dust from passing cars on a country road was a small price to pay for the opportunity to take some outstanding photographs.

    • Thanks, Joyce! I agree – I love shooting along those roads no matter the conditions. I was concerned about my allergies getting worse and my lens getting dirty. Next time, I will remember to stand upwind when a vehicle approaches!

  4. I, too, was really ‘taken’ by the farmhouse photo. I loved the old, vacant but once-loved look with the great angle you used. And that interesting patch of sky at the top right. The old barn was great, too. Would love to see you enlarge and crop that one in different ways. Thanks for sharing with us. J

    • Thanks, J! I love to capture the many textures of weathered objects, especially houses and barns. And I love the contrast of delicate flowers and weathered wood.

      A house stood some distance to the left of the barn, where an elderly man was hanging his freshly laundered pants and shirts on the clothesline. I was so enchanted by the compositional possibilities (with the old barn in the background), but was too shy to stop and ask his permission to take photos!

  5. I absolutely love all these pictures! I think the first one is the most striking. Great angle!

  6. This picture is very refreshing. I think u are a good photographer. I really like this… Great pic, great cam and great great hands…

  7. I agree, I love the first one the most, I think for the interesting angle.