Visioning

photography and digital scrapbooking

Hummingbird Photography

6 Comments

Experimenting with hummingbird photography has challenged me this week. We have a window feeder, so I set up my tripod in the kitchen and with Larry’s help outside, I manually focused on an object where the hummingbird will be feeding and hovering. When a bird arrived, I shot using a remote shutter release and high-speed continuous shooting. This is my best photo after a few hundred attempts earlier this week! See a bit of her tongue slightly extended? The feeder is somewhat shaded, so I plan to find a way to reflect more light on the feeder, without scaring the birds.

This little bird is very observant. When I replaced a yellow dish towel with a white one on a hook next to the window, she came to the feeder and glanced almost constantly at the white towel. She even perched and stared at it for a while! These little birds are so much fun to watch. I can remain stationary in front of the kitchen sink and watch them from a distance of 18 inches!

Canon 60D, ISO 400, 200mm, f4.0, 1/160.

Click on the photo to enlarge.

female ruby-throated hummingbird

Author: Karen Chandler

Metal clay jewelry, nature photography, and digital scrapbooking are Karen's passions. She is mostly self-taught, enjoying the learning process as much as producing her works of art. Karen's jewelry features fine silver, copper, and bronze. She sculpts and refines metal clay, then kiln fires her pieces and polishes them to perfection. The process allows for exciting interpretations of symbols, shapes, textures, and combinations of metals. A long time user of Photoshop, Karen loves to create digital layouts with her photos. Her layouts and albums are a diary of sorts; documenting milestones, recording happy times, and celebrating her love of nature.

6 thoughts on “Hummingbird Photography

  1. Great photo! I love how you got her tongue sticking out. The clarity of her body with her wings in motion is really cool. I’ve been shooting them this week, too, but using a faster shutter speed. I think I’ll drop it down and try to get a bit of motion in my shots. Excellent capture!

    • Thanks, Tricia! Your lovely photo posted today was inspiration for me to keep working on my hummingbird photos! I think I can do better, so we will see if I can get more photos of this little bird. Only the females drink at this feeder. The males prefer the other feeders in our yard.

  2. It looks like your time and effort paid off, it’s a wonderful photo!

  3. Pingback: Shooting under pressure | Desert Dreaming's Blog

  4. Pingback: Shooting under pressure | Desert Dreaming Photography