Visioning

photography and digital scrapbooking

Juvenile Hummingbird

8 Comments

Finally everything came together! First thing this morning, I set up my tripod, metered, and waited for hummingbirds to come to the feeder. They visited briefly several times, but I was unable to get a manual focus. Finally a young male Ruby-throat hovered, then perched. He stayed for about a minute, which allowed time to focus manually and take continuous photos. See the small red spot on his throat? Juvenile males develop spots in August and September. During his first molt, he will obtain the iridescent red throat of an adult male.

Canon 60D, ISO 500, 200mm, f/4.0, 1/80

Click on the photo to enlarge.

juvenile ruby-throated hummingbird


Author: Karen Chandler

Metal clay jewelry, nature photography, and digital scrapbooking are Karen's passions. She is mostly self-taught, enjoying the learning process as much as producing her works of art. Karen's jewelry features fine silver, copper, and bronze. She sculpts and refines metal clay, then kiln fires her pieces and polishes them to perfection. The process allows for exciting interpretations of symbols, shapes, textures, and combinations of metals. A long time user of Photoshop, Karen loves to create digital layouts with her photos. Her layouts and albums are a diary of sorts; documenting milestones, recording happy times, and celebrating her love of nature.

8 thoughts on “Juvenile Hummingbird

  1. Awesome! I wonder if that’s the one I saw on the bush next to your deck. šŸ™‚ He was beautiful…I’m so glad you “shot” him!

  2. Great photo! I love his regal look and the details of his feathers.

  3. Picture perfect Karen. We have several hummingbirds visit our feeder constantly but spend more time chasing each other away! I never even considered trying to capture a picture but this one has certainly inspired me to give it a try.

  4. This is amazing! I just started getting into birding at the beginning of the summer and your photos are incredible. I will definitely be subscribing to your blog. šŸ™‚

  5. Thanks, Megan! I hope to post photos of other birds in the near future. Have fun birding!