Visioning

photography and digital scrapbooking

Male Ruby-throated Hummingbird

298 Comments

A male started feeding at the window feeder yesterday! The female strongly objects to sharing her personal food source, but manages to drink when she is not engaged in territorial battles. All the birds look healthy and will soon begin their migration to the western states of America or Central America. I will miss seeing them every day!

Canon 60D, ISO 640, 200mm, f4, 1/250

Click on the photos to enlarge.

male ruby-throated hummingbird

male ruby-throated hummingbird

Author: Karen Chandler

Metal clay jewelry, nature photography, and digital scrapbooking are Karen's passions. She is mostly self-taught, enjoying the learning process as much as producing her works of art. Karen's jewelry features fine silver, copper, and bronze. She sculpts and refines metal clay, then kiln fires her pieces and polishes them to perfection. The process allows for exciting interpretations of symbols, shapes, textures, and combinations of metals. A long time user of Photoshop, Karen loves to create digital layouts with her photos. Her layouts and albums are a diary of sorts; documenting milestones, recording happy times, and celebrating her love of nature.

298 thoughts on “Male Ruby-throated Hummingbird

  1. Wonderful photos.
    Glad to have found your blog… thanks to Freshly Pressed. By the way Congrats!

  2. Wow. That is breathtaking. And I’ve always loved hummingbirds.

  3. Beautiful photos of winged jewels.

  4. Awe, he’s such a cute little thing. And pretty too.

  5. Good Pic s

  6. Lovely. At the moment I’m sitting on my back porch working in view of my feeders. I’ve counted five hummers (I have three feeders). Sometimes they’re all here at once and they spend a lot of time fighting over territory. I have one with the red throat. Perhaps some of the younger ones are also male, but will have to wait to find out next year I suppose. I always miss them when they head south.

    • Thank you, Katie! This is the first year I’ve been able to photograph them. I’m already planning to grow more hummingbird-friendly flowers next year. Of course, I’ll provide the feeders as well.

  7. Beautiful! Thanks for sharing! 😀

  8. What gorgeous pictures!

  9. Pingback: Male Ruby-throated Hummingbird (via Visioning) « Allen LaRose

  10. WOW. I lover seeing them, but it usually lasts for a fraction of a second.
    congratulations on the photo and being FP!

  11. Oh my god, that’s amazing!

  12. great job Karen – i enjoyed these!!

  13. I love watching them, not lover. 🙂

  14. Stunning photos! Hummingbirds are spectacular — such an interesting bird.

    🙂

  15. AWESOME! I use a hummingbird on my site. 🙂

  16. Great photo. I love to sit and watch the hummers in my flower garden.

  17. Wow! Amazing! I’m inspired to put a bird feeder outside my window and take photographs. Still not good with photographing birds.

  18. Gorgeous! Will be showing this to my four-year-old – he loves birds. I’m sure he’ll draw it with his markers at some point tomorrow.

  19. Beautiful colors. Great shots. Their wings move so fast!

  20. I had a close encounter with one inspecting an agapantha yesterday. Their little white “eyebrow” always makes me think they’re looking at me with a bit of bemused skepticism, thinking “Why are you just standing there staring at me? There are so many flowers to check before sunset… big, lazy biped… hmmph…” And then they zip away on their next errand.

    Beautiful photos!

  21. That is startling.. i cannot imagine how you got that shot.. the hummingbirds here are like angels they are gone as you realise they are there..c

    • Thank you! I’ve experimented with a variety of techniques. I’ve been most successful when I use a tripod, set for continuous shooting, use a remote shutter release, and focus manually – very quickly!

      I checked out your blog. Beautiful photos!

  22. Great photo and a tough subject matter. Awesome job capturing the little guy 🙂

  23. Pretty, nice photos. Thanks!

  24. Congrats on being Freshly Pressed! Your photographs are beautiful and I can’t wait to look at some of your previous posts.

    I posted last week about the future of the hummingbird. It was a tongue-in-cheek post but I do love those little creatures.

  25. Rayo de luz yo te invoco para que desentierres a -JBC- de donde este o con quien este y le hagas llamarme hoy mismo enamorado y arrepentido. Desentierra todo lo que esta impidiendo que -JBC- venga a mi -MRR-. Aparta a todos los que contribuyan a que nos apartemos y que el no piense mas en otras mujeres que solo piense en mi -MRR- Que el me llame y me ame. gracias, gracias por tu misterioso poder que siempre cumple con lo que se le pide.

  26. Beautiful creation the hummingbird.