Visioning

photography and digital scrapbooking

Poetry of the Earth

14 Comments

Poetry of the Earth digital layout

Journaling: Hints of autumn are renewing my energy for nature photography! Cool nights and warm days are also renewing my flowering plants. I am thankful for the butterflies, bees, and hummingbirds who visit my flowers; coming together as poetry of the Earth.

CVW_QuickStarts_1, font: AMC_ChalkTalk.

All photos: Canon 60D, RAW format, handheld (except hummingbird photo).

Click on photos and layout to enlarge.

Grandmother's Pincushion blossom

ISO 500, 100mm, f/7.1, 1/160.

Dark pink blossom from my Grandmother’s Pincushion plant.

Female Eastern Tiger Swallowtail Butterfly

ISO 1000, 100mm, f/4.0, 1/1250.

Female Eastern Tiger Swallowtail visiting the Butterfly Bush.

Female Ruby-throated hummingbird

ISO 400, 100mm, f/3.5, 1/250.

Ruby-throated hummingbird surveying the territory before drinking at the window feeder.

Bumblebee

ISO 400, 100mm, f/2.8, 1/200.

A bumblebee intent on gathering pollen.

white sweet william blossom

ISO 400, 100mm, f/5.6, 1/1000.

Sweet William blossoms. A favorite of butterflies and bees.

cherry tomatoes

ISO 500, 100mm, f/5.0, 1/200.

Sungold cherry tomato plants. The stalks have grown wild; allowing some fruit to rest on the retaining wall.

Pink Sedum

ISO 500, 100mm, f/8.0, 1/500.

Another favorite of bees, Sedum blossoms start out very light pink and darken over a period of weeks.

Author: Karen Chandler

Metal clay jewelry, nature photography, and digital scrapbooking are Karen's passions. She is mostly self-taught, enjoying the learning process as much as producing her works of art. Karen's jewelry features fine silver, copper, and bronze. She sculpts and refines metal clay, then kiln fires her pieces and polishes them to perfection. The process allows for exciting interpretations of symbols, shapes, textures, and combinations of metals. A long time user of Photoshop, Karen loves to create digital layouts with her photos. Her layouts and albums are a diary of sorts; documenting milestones, recording happy times, and celebrating her love of nature.

14 thoughts on “Poetry of the Earth

  1. Very nice photos Karen, I feel as if I am in the garden.

  2. Gardens are full of details… thanks for showing them.

  3. I love to see work from other nature photographers. I will look forward to seeing more of yours. 🙂

  4. Nice, Karen! Your scrapbooking page is just beautiful. Sadly, I’ve not scrapbooked for more than six months now. I really miss it, but time has been elusive. Thanks for the inspiration and providing me we a wonderful example to follow when I get back to the table.

  5. Gorgeous poetry! Sometimes words can’t do justice to the beauty around us.

  6. Handheld? Methinks you have the hands of a surgeon!

    • Thank you, Linda! I try to use all the techniques I know about – holding my breath, pressing the shutter button with care, etc. The lens image stabilization helps a lot too!