Visioning

photography and digital scrapbooking

Duke Gardens

20 Comments

Our trip to Raleigh, North Carolina included a visit to Duke Gardens. Surrounded by the colorful landscape, I immediately began taking photos. That was important, since it started to rain twenty minutes into our visit. We had no choice but to head back to the car – getting completely drenched on the way! My camera was ok, since I protected it by holding it under the hem of my shirt. After a soggy ride home, we changed clothes and went on with our day. Duke Gardens is a glorious place to walk, relax, and enjoy photography. It was disappointing that our visit was short, but I hope to return someday.

  • All photos: Canon 60D, 50mm 1.8 prime lens, manual, evaluative, RAW, handheld. I shot the last photo in the rain under a leafy (and leaky) gazebo!

 

 

Author: Karen Chandler

Metal clay jewelry, nature photography, and digital scrapbooking are Karen's passions. She is mostly self-taught, enjoying the learning process as much as producing her works of art. Karen's jewelry features fine silver, copper, and bronze. She sculpts and refines metal clay, then kiln fires her pieces and polishes them to perfection. The process allows for exciting interpretations of symbols, shapes, textures, and combinations of metals. A long time user of Photoshop, Karen loves to create digital layouts with her photos. Her layouts and albums are a diary of sorts; documenting milestones, recording happy times, and celebrating her love of nature.

20 thoughts on “Duke Gardens

  1. Karen this looks like a lovely place to visit…you had better go back!! Super photos too!!

    • Thanks, David! You and your wife would love it. You can stay for several hours exploring all the different landscapes and individual flowers and trees. The only fee is for parking – $1 per 30 minutes.

  2. Your photos make me want to visit that place. I enjoy going to my garden in town. I’m sure you would like it too. I have photos of the garden on my blog.

    • You would love Duke Gardens. Beautiful in spring, summer, and fall. I think I have been there in the winter too and enjoyed every minute. I will check out your garden photos soon!

  3. I’m so envious . . . I love to visit gardens and have not been for some time. So an extra thanks for the “trip”. When I lived in Japan, I was told that “Gardens are meant to be viewed in the rain.” I’ll never forget that statement and realized how true it was after taking some shots during a drizzle and then again when the sun appeared. The soft, haze-like quality and the glistening of the leaves stands out far more brilliant than the bright colors reflected on a sunny day. Your photos definitely show that lovely quality.

    • Hi Joyce! Thanks for visiting my blog and I am glad you enjoyed the photos.

      Gardens are meant to be viewed in the rain. What a lovely sentiment! I certainly enjoyed seeing the rain falling on the lovely landscape. As we walked to the car, we passed a couple walking into the gardens wearing rain ponchos. They were smiling and looking forward to an adventure in the rain. Next time, I will bring a poncho and a protective cover for my camera. Cloudy days are definitely better for photographing flowers!

  4. Gorgeous. The first two are my favorites. You would probably really like Daniel Stowe Botanical Gardens in York County SC. Just pick a very cool day to go.

  5. Gorgeous photos of an attractive place!

    Raining on the camera is never fun. Has happened to me more than once over the past few weeks with a low pressure system hanging out over the Great Lakes area…

  6. Stunning compositions. Hand held? I repeat….you have the hands of surgeon! I particularly like the one with the cacti.

  7. Beautiful photos, Karen! That flat light really allows the colors to pop. Lovely compositions, too!

  8. Excellent work Karen! I’m very impress with your techniques. Congratulations!

  9. The photo of the flower bed is gorgeous. Your vantage point makes it seem as if the plants were arranged in a spiral. 🙂

  10. You have some gorgeous photography!