Visioning

photography and digital scrapbooking

Antique Windows

30 Comments

We made a spur-of-the-moment trip last week. I wanted to help my parents with some tasks around the house and shoot photos in the rural areas of north central Ohio. The landscape there is full of interesting things to photograph:  farms scattered in gently rolling hills, Amish culture, antique homes and barns, wildflowers, quaint villages, ancient cemeteries, and wetlands. I now have many photos to enjoy and categorize, so look for Ohio-theme blog posts in the weeks to come. We enjoyed every minute of our visit and hope to return soon!

While traveling around the countryside, I was drawn to the windows of old buildings. I decided to start a series of window photos and was able to get nine examples. I especially liked seeing the landscape reflected in windows, or curtains that hinted of a simple decor from decades ago.

All photos: Canon 60D.

Click on the horizontal photos to enlarge.

vintage window and door

ISO 800, 100mm, f/18, 1/20.

This abandoned house in Savannah, Ohio had a mystery door next to one of the windows!

window in antique red barn

ISO 640, 50mm, f/13, 1/800.

Small window on a barn built in 1880. The window and texture of the painted wood were the features I found most interesting.

ancient window in abandoned house

ISO 640, 25mm, f/18, 1/100.

This window is from an abandoned farmhouse in a wide valley. I like seeing the reflection of grain fields and sky.

four windows in an old house

ISO 500, 100mm, f/18, 1/80.

I found this house in a small Ohio town. The lovely designs under the soffit and over the windows are still pretty after many years in the elements.

handcrafted window in restored brick church

ISO 640, 100mm, f/18, 1/40.

This handcrafted window is one of many in a restored brick church near Ashland, Ohio. Hints of the perfect autumn day reflect in the glass. (A future post will include more photos of this building, which is now a residence.)

old storage shed windows

ISO 800, 100mm, f/18, 1/80.

I found this old storage shed in a small town. The windows displayed a plethora of items and pride in the state of Ohio.

diamond window in old brick church

ISO 320, 100mm, f/18, 1/250.

This little diamond window is on the west side of an ancient church. Light from the setting sun illuminated the strong focal point.

country town post office window

ISO 800, 100mm, f/18 1/640.

The wall of windows on the front of this post office face a busy road. Taking the photo from the side was my only option, but this angle provided interest as well.

tall window in antique house

 500, 100mm, f/18, 1/15.

This fancy window hints of a once elegant brick house.

Author: Karen Chandler

Metal clay jewelry, nature photography, and digital scrapbooking are Karen's passions. She is mostly self-taught, enjoying the learning process as much as producing her works of art. Karen's jewelry features fine silver, copper, and bronze. She sculpts and refines metal clay, then kiln fires her pieces and polishes them to perfection. The process allows for exciting interpretations of symbols, shapes, textures, and combinations of metals. A long time user of Photoshop, Karen loves to create digital layouts with her photos. Her layouts and albums are a diary of sorts; documenting milestones, recording happy times, and celebrating her love of nature.

30 thoughts on “Antique Windows

  1. I like the old buildings and texture on doors, windows, cracked paint. Your abstracts are well executed! There’s something strongly attractive on antiques or old artifacts.
    Excellent work Karen!

  2. Great window shots!!! My husband and I are collecting antique windows to incorporate into our green house. I am looking forward to the adventure that will lead us to them and the finished project.

  3. I like the 4th photo with the reflections on glass windows enhancing the exciting colors. I agree with avian101, your treatment of the subject was well executed! 🙂

    • Thank you, Traveller! The trees were just starting to turn colorful during our visit to Ohio. I am now looking forward to autumn colors in my local area. Should be pretty in 2-3 weeks.

  4. A unique collection, Karen.

  5. Great collection of windows–nice reflections in some of the windows too.

  6. Very nice series of photographs! It makes for an interesting theme..book maybe,, postcards etc.

  7. Excelllent eye and composition. I saved these to file for distribution to freinds and family. Some live in Ohio and will appreciate them even more. I will call this photo gallery…”The Windows to the Soul.” Thanks, Dan

  8. I love these photos! Really stunning and calming all at once.

  9. Such a wonderful idea to photograph old windows. More beautiful photographs…as usual!

  10. Karen, Really nice pics! Great composition, color, and texture! Mom has been sending me links to your photos, and I just signed up myself today.
    Laura

  11. Pingback: Weekday Links No. 3 | tita buds' blog

  12. Karen your windows are so beautiful. I grew up in Ohio and I lived in Ashland County. Windows like these were part of our everyday views and I never gave them a thought. One window in particular reminds me of the house I grew up in. Now that I’m gone, you’ve done a great job of showing me what I am missing. Gorgeous work.

  13. Those architectural details are so interesting, rather attractive to me.

  14. Pingback: ventanas antigüas « Desván Gatero