Visioning

photography and digital scrapbooking

Ohio Farms: Antique Barns and Landscapes

27 Comments

The plentiful antique barns in north central Ohio are fun to photograph. Some are restored and others abandoned, but I find all of them interesting. Most of the barns were painted white in years past. Red paint is now more common and I think the color adds to the charm.

I took these photos in the area where I grew up. Even as a young child, I appreciated the landscape views of valleys, hills, and grain fields. You might have guessed – I miss this rural area where the pace of life is slower and the beauty of nature abounds.

All photos: Canon 60D.

Author: Karen Chandler

Metal clay jewelry, nature photography, and digital scrapbooking are Karen's passions. She is mostly self-taught, enjoying the learning process as much as producing her works of art. Karen's jewelry features fine silver, copper, and bronze. She sculpts and refines metal clay, then kiln fires her pieces and polishes them to perfection. The process allows for exciting interpretations of symbols, shapes, textures, and combinations of metals. A long time user of Photoshop, Karen loves to create digital layouts with her photos. Her layouts and albums are a diary of sorts; documenting milestones, recording happy times, and celebrating her love of nature.

27 thoughts on “Ohio Farms: Antique Barns and Landscapes

  1. Great photos. I love red and rustic barns. 🙂

  2. Again, Great Photos. I lived in Ohio for 12 years and have family there still. When I first started my careet in industrial sales and marketing I travelled extensively throughout the Ohio country sides and the roads through farmland, also saw these landscapes from the freeway, Your pictures say a lot to me and they are saved on my computer, in my mind and distributed to my friends and family. I hope you feel good for this, because it’s the best reward that I can give you. As usual,….a big THANKS TO YOU.

  3. Karen, I think we must have lived near each other. I lived in Shreve for many years and some of these look really familiar. You outdid yourself on these beautiful shots. Thanks for a quick trip “home”.

    • More to come, Joy! I have some Amish culture photos and some misc. Ohio photos to post soon. We must have lived within 30 minutes of each other! I lived near Shreve as a very young child, then west of Wooster until age 19.

  4. We don’t have barns like that in Texas…obviously not everything is bigger in Texas. Thanks for sharing Ohio with me…I had no idea how beautiful a place it is.

  5. Wonderful photos of rural America Karen!

  6. There is something so beautiful about the “vista” across farmlands, especially when it is through a valley. Thanks for sharing. That first barn looked cathedral-like.

  7. Wonderfully done Karen! Ohio countryside is so peaceful and beautiful. Good photo work!

  8. The first images I had of the U.S. were based on the ones I saw in children’s storybooks which I read while growing up in the Philippines. They were of farms with red barns and holsteins, winding country roads, and simple communities. (The first time I went for a visit, I was so thrilled when I saw those images ‘live’ while driving through Pennsylvania, hahaha.) How can I not love this collection? You captured those images so beautifully. 🙂

    • Thank you so much, tita buds! I photograph what I love and that pleases me. But to read how meaningful these photos are to you is deeply satisfying. As photographers, we never know when our images will touch someone, evoking memories of happy times. Your comment made my day!

  9. Karen,

    Enjoyed your photos. In fact I think I remember one of those barns from many years past.

    Allan

  10. These may be the everyday scenes that you grew up with, but you see them with the delightfully fresh eyes of a newcomer. Thanks for sharing your part of the country.

  11. What a great travelogue! You really caught the essence of Ohio farm country 🙂

  12. Hi Karen. I was raised in Wisconsin but moved to California many years ago. Your pictures remind me of the sweet delicate beauty of the Midwestern countryside. Just a lovely way to start my Sunday morning. Thank you for sharing.

    Kathie

    • Hi Kathie! I’m glad you enjoyed the photos! Like you, I have not lived in the midwest for many years. When I visit, I love seeing how certain things are unchanged. Makes the ‘coming home’ experience even better!