Visioning

photography and digital scrapbooking

Amish Farm Scenes

16 Comments

Amish farms are found throughout Ashland County, Ohio. Typically, Amish farmland and buildings are well maintained, even though residents do not use electricity from the grid or own motor vehicles. Power for the household is generated by windmills and gasoline generators. Teams of horses pull wagons and equipment for planting and harvesting crops.

My goal for this set of photos is to explore the beauty of the farms and to respectfully meditate on this antiquated farming community. I was careful not to overtly photograph the faces of the Amish, since they adhere to the scriptural admonition to avoid “graven images”. And they simply do not want to draw attention to themselves by posing for photos. How the Amish live and conduct themselves interests me, but I neither idealize nor judge their lifestyle.

All photos: Canon 60D.

Click on each photo to enlarge and see details.

amish farmhouse

ISO

Amish farmhouses are usually large and have an early 1900’s look. A row of rhubarb plants can be seen in the foreground.

amish farmer harvesting crops

ISO 640, 50mm, f/13, 1/640.

This Amish farmer is harvesting corn by hand; bundling the stalks and stacking them neatly. His young children are along for the ride.

amish house and long lane

ISO 500, 100mm, f/18, 1/125.

This plain house with rustic fence posts made a lovely setting when viewed from the road.

amish milk cans

ISO 500, 100mm, f/18, 1/125.

I found these milk cans at the end of a narrow lane. Amish dairy farm practices are definitely old-style.

amish signs at mailbox

ISO 640, 100mm, f/18, 1/160.

I enjoyed seeing the charming display of  hand-lettered signs! (I altered the address on the mailbox to respect the resident’s privacy.)

amish laundry on clothesline

ISO 640, 100mm, f/18, 1/200.

Hand sewn Amish clothing carefully hung to dry in the sun. Plain styles and colors are traditional.

amish produce stand

ISO 100, 50mm, f/6.3, 1/320.

A charming produce stand next to a township road. We selected some items and drove down the lane to deliver the money. We saw five or six smiling children working in the garden. They were all carrying baskets full of vegetables!

amish for sale signs

ISO 400, 100mm, f/18, 1/125.

Interesting to see the items and services for sale at this Amish residence.

amish horse and buggy

ISO 100, 50mm, f/7.1, 1/400.

A young woman and child enjoying a ride in the autumn sunshine.

Author: Karen Chandler

Metal clay jewelry, nature photography, and digital scrapbooking are Karen's passions. She is mostly self-taught, enjoying the learning process as much as producing her works of art. Karen's jewelry features fine silver, copper, and bronze. She sculpts and refines metal clay, then kiln fires her pieces and polishes them to perfection. The process allows for exciting interpretations of symbols, shapes, textures, and combinations of metals. A long time user of Photoshop, Karen loves to create digital layouts with her photos. Her layouts and albums are a diary of sorts; documenting milestones, recording happy times, and celebrating her love of nature.

16 thoughts on “Amish Farm Scenes

  1. Boy does that bring back memories. Even the little towns have hitching posts for the convenience of the Amish to shop. You take such wonderful photos I feel like I’ve had a trip home. To me the Amish were people that were my neighbors and I never found them as interesting as people do who come upon them from somewhere else. This really brings home how beautiful it was where I lived. Thanks so much for sharing.

    • You are welcome, Joy! I’m glad you enjoyed the photos. I agree regarding the beauty of northern Ohio. I could spend months photographing the subjects I encounter there.

  2. Thanks for such lovely photos, and thanks for respecting the privacy of these Amish families. Far too many photographers aren’t as thoughtful.

    • Thank you for visiting my blog, tripsfor2! I’m glad you enjoyed the photos. I checked out your blog and enjoyed it very much! I’m looking forward to seeing more of your posts.

  3. Thanks for taking me on a tour of Amish country. You’ve done them justice with a careful rendering of details and honoring their traditions. I love the neatly lined up clothes on the clothesline.

  4. Very nice pictures. Karen! I like your sense of discretion and respect for other people’s beliefs and traditions. I respect that too.

    • Thanks, H.J.! The Amish community has increased significantly in northern Ohio in the past 10 – 15 years. I do respect their customs, but worry about the vulnerability of their transportation. A horse and buggy on the same two lane road with 18 wheelers makes me cringe!

  5. Lovely countryside scenes, Karen and what a fascinating subject. I once saw some Amish people driving through Ashville, NY in similar horse-drawn carriages & my respect has grown as I learned more about them. You managed to come up with these evocative photos while respecting their privacy.
    Also, that corn farmer is the man! 🙂

    • Thank you, tita buds! LOL – the farmer was amazing! He was moving so quickly, that by the time I pulled over on a side road and got out of the car, he had moved forward and the shot was not what I had envisioned originally. But I love the composition anyway. Another farmer was just leaving the field when we arrived. His wagon was stacked full and it was interesting – he had used an alternating pattern of horizontal/vertical stacks. The wagon had a little shelf on the back where a couple children were sitting. That concerned me a little since the road is heavily travelled, but fortunately the road is flat and straight and slow-moving vehicles can be seen from a great distance.

  6. Great memories. My grandmother lived in Amish country in Indiana, and we often went to their auctions and sales. I had one of my first pony rides on an Amish farm. You captured the simplicity and beauty of their community quite nicely!

    • Thanks, Tricia! First pony rides as a child are never forgotten! And I imagine even more so when the farm owners are dressed differently, etc. My family has always lived in or near the Amish communities in Ohio. I love the well-maintained properties and admire the Amish vegetable gardens – always with rows of beautiful flowers included.

  7. Wonderful images Karen…we have a large Amish and Mennonite community here also in Lancaster County Pa (3 miles away) and it is very similar in all aspects of your photos. Love the signage!!

  8. Great series. I was recently in Amish country in a few Wisconsin counties, but didn’t get to spend the time that I would have liked to photograph their farmsteads. Your post is encouraging me to get back there and shoot 🙂