Visioning

photography and digital scrapbooking

Enjoying Nature on My Birthday

24 Comments

Yesterday was my birthday, so it was the perfect excuse to take a break and spend some time outside. We decided to drive to Kennesaw Mountain for a leisurely afternoon of hiking. The weather was warm and the yellow autumn leaves were bright and beautiful in the sunlight. I enjoyed taking some photos on the trails, then we spotted a few deer near the base of the mountain. After a few minutes, one curious little doe broke away from the others to investigate a rake that was left near a pile of gravel. She approached it very timidly, sniffed, then quickly trotted back to the cover of the woods. I love deer and seeing them is always a great event for me! It was a happy day and just what I needed to relax and refresh my spirit.

All photos Canon 60D

Author: Karen Chandler

Metal clay jewelry, nature photography, and digital scrapbooking are Karen's passions. She is mostly self-taught, enjoying the learning process as much as producing her works of art. Karen's jewelry features fine silver, copper, and bronze. She sculpts and refines metal clay, then kiln fires her pieces and polishes them to perfection. The process allows for exciting interpretations of symbols, shapes, textures, and combinations of metals. A long time user of Photoshop, Karen loves to create digital layouts with her photos. Her layouts and albums are a diary of sorts; documenting milestones, recording happy times, and celebrating her love of nature.

24 thoughts on “Enjoying Nature on My Birthday

  1. I’m glad you had a wonderful birthday! It’s always a treat to get to spend your day doing something special. Beautiful photos, too!

  2. Looks like a lovely birthday. I love watching deer, too. There’s something infinitely…spiritual? about them.

  3. Happy belated birthday!

  4. Beautiful! I love fall!!

  5. Have a great ‘new’ year ahead, Karen. 🙂

    • Thank you, Tita Buds! I’m looking forward to a new venture…more about that in the days or weeks to come! I will definitely be blogging as well. I enjoy this blog and the people I have ‘met’ more than I can express!

  6. Beautiful photography Karen! Maybe one day I’ll join you on that walk. 🙂

    • Thanks, Janine! I would love it if you joined me some day! In fact, I mentioned to Larry that you and Christy would love the trails and views at the mountain. Civil war historical markers, canons and other remnants of the civil war also make the hikes interesting and thought provoking.

  7. happy birthday and thanks your sharing your special moments in the forest. lovely photos!

    • Thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed the photos. I am enjoying your blog very much. Even though your profiles of wonderful locations make me want to immediately visit them – ALL of them!!

  8. Happy birthday, Karen! Gorgeous photos as always.

  9. Beautiful photos! You just inspired me to post a blog from my camping trip this past weekend.

  10. Happy belated birthday!

  11. Happy Birthday Karen!!! It looks to me like you had a glorious time on your special day. Nice photos also to remember the day!

  12. Dear Karen,
    Happy Birthday! I’m sorry to be late for one day. I’m also glad that you had a nice and peaceful time at the Kennesaw Mountain Trail. Have many more like that!