Visioning

photography and digital scrapbooking

Small Town Charm

26 Comments

Our recent visit to Ashland, Ohio included a walk through lovely city streets and the campus of Ashland University. The charm of this town (and many others in the area) is best enjoyed in person. But I hope these photos and my brief captions communicates some of the natural beauty of this midwestern town.

Click on the first photo to open the photo carousel. All photos, Canon 60D.

Author: Karen Chandler

Metal clay jewelry, nature photography, and digital scrapbooking are Karen's passions. She is mostly self-taught, enjoying the learning process as much as producing her works of art. Karen's jewelry features fine silver, copper, and bronze. She sculpts and refines metal clay, then kiln fires her pieces and polishes them to perfection. The process allows for exciting interpretations of symbols, shapes, textures, and combinations of metals. A long time user of Photoshop, Karen loves to create digital layouts with her photos. Her layouts and albums are a diary of sorts; documenting milestones, recording happy times, and celebrating her love of nature.

26 thoughts on “Small Town Charm

  1. Nice photos and a good narrative to go along. 🙂

  2. I have the image of the fruit salad still in my mind 🙂 It looks delicious! That Autumn flower is gorgeous! Very nice photos Karen.

  3. I certainly enjoyed my stroll through this charming small town. Gorgeous photos Karen, as always.

  4. I certainly enjoyed my stroll through this charming little town. Beautiful photos, as usual Karen.

  5. These images are so sharp and inviting, it feels as if you could walk right into the scene and experience autumn in Ashland. Thanks for the “our town” experience, Karen.

  6. Nice post, the photos give a good idea of how pleasant the place is.

  7. A beautiful place to live..

  8. Clicking to your blog is always like starting out on a pleasant walk in a wonderful neighborhood. It never disappoints. Very charming photos, Karen. 🙂

  9. You’ve certainly captured the small town feel. Looks like a nice place.

    • Thanks, David! I was thinking the other day that a few students in the university photos would have been nice. They were there, but I am always conscious of possibly making people uncomfortable…

  10. I just love small town America…you have done a wonderful job capturing the flavor of this town.

  11. Ok- I’m ready to live here! I’d love to wake up on those quiet streets….

  12. Excellent post! Ashland should hire you for public relations work 🙂

  13. My sister lives just northwest of Columbus–very rural, small town, much like this. I was there in May. We’re California beach girls but there’s something about the Midwest that really strikes a chord. Great pictures, Karen.

    • Hi Orrinda – great to hear from you! I’m glad you enjoyed the photos. There is something special about the look of midwestern towns. Maybe because the old homes and buildings impart a unique and comforting sense of history and permanence. So many interesting scenes were left unexplored. I will go back when I have more time!