Visioning

photography and digital scrapbooking

Doing What I Love

12 Comments

It all started with a magazine. I had recently discovered scrapbooking and adored creating layouts of all types with paper and adhesive. I was eagerly reading everything I could find on the subject and happened to spot information about digital scrapbooking. The layouts amazed me. The embellishments looked dimensional and I saw photo techniques I never imagined. I barely knew how to use my old computer, but wanted to do what was necessary to take my creativity in this direction. Working in Photoshop, I taught myself the skills I needed. Almost six years later, I am still learning new techniques and have upgraded my computer, camera, and Photoshop. Over the years, I created hundreds of layouts and have been fortunate to have some accepted for print and online publication.

Recently my life has happily changed due to a new venture in digital scrapbook product design. I have been warmly welcomed as part of the talented design team at Happy to Create. Working intently over the past six weeks, I now have five new products offered in the Happy To Create store.

My blog, Visioning, will be as important to me as ever. My work is essentially about photos, so I will continue my photo shoots and post here, as always. Blogging has allowed me to become online friends with many kind, talented people. I greatly appreciate those of you who view my photos and comment. And I love reading your stories and seeing your wonderful photos.

On this Thanksgiving weekend, I’m feeling thankful for friends near and far and for my new opportunity to do what I love! I hope you are also doing what you love and will share some of the ways you have found happiness through work and hobbies.

My new layouts and products shown below. Happy To Create products used for my layouts listed under the gallery.

“Delicious Autumn” digital scrapbooking layout uses: Eclectic Autumn Maxi Kit; Chalk Talk Font

“Autumn Exercise” digital scrapbooking layout uses: Eclectic Autumn Maxi Kit; ScrapHappy Brushes Maxi: Paint Mess

“Young Visitor” digital scrapbooking layout uses: ScrapHappy Paper Templates: Grunge Patterns; Eclectic Autumn Maxi Kit; ScrapHappy Shapes: Centers MA01; ScrapHappy Shapes: Flowers MA02; SH_Shapes: Flowers MA03

“Meeting Mallory” digital scrapbooking layout uses: Maxi Embellishments Botanicals Autumn1; Maxi Embellishments Botanicals Autumn3; Maxi Embellishments: BotanicalsAutumn2; American Quilt Maxi Kit; Eclectic Autumn Maxi Kit; ScrapHappy Paper Templates: Woven Textures; Font Quirky

“Colorful Autumn” digital scrapbooking layout uses: Maxi Embellishments: Botanicals Autumn 2; Eclectic Autumn Maxi Kit;  Maxi Embellishments: BotanicalsAutumn1; Maxi Embellishments: Botanicals Autumn 3; ScrapHappy Dynamic Brushes Midi: Leaves VR01; ScrapHappy Brushes Mini: Bees; ScrapHappy Brushes Maxi: Colors Of Fall 2; Font Friendly

“Mr & Mrs” digital scrapbooking layout uses: Maxi Embellishments: Botanicals Autumn 3; Maxi Embellishments: Botanicals Autumn1; Maxi Embellishments: Botanicals Autumn 2; ScrapHappy Paper Templates: Grunge Patterns; EclecticAutumn Maxi Kit; Midi Embellishments: Just Frames

Author: Karen Chandler

Metal clay jewelry, nature photography, and digital scrapbooking are Karen's passions. She is mostly self-taught, enjoying the learning process as much as producing her works of art. Karen's jewelry features fine silver, copper, and bronze. She sculpts and refines metal clay, then kiln fires her pieces and polishes them to perfection. The process allows for exciting interpretations of symbols, shapes, textures, and combinations of metals. A long time user of Photoshop, Karen loves to create digital layouts with her photos. Her layouts and albums are a diary of sorts; documenting milestones, recording happy times, and celebrating her love of nature.

12 thoughts on “Doing What I Love

  1. Congratulations Karen! You’ve proven to be a versatile and talented lady. I’m proud to be your friend. I’ve seen all your work and looks fantastic! Good luck with your new work.

  2. So excited for you Karen! 🙂

  3. Karen, it always moves me when I see people who are insanely good at what they do say that they love it and that they spent time and effort to be good at it. Bravo to you. Your mention that you prepared for this for 6 years inspires me more than you know. 🙂

    • Thank you so much, Tita Buds! I am happy that you found my story inspirational. I am still learning since image editing software and operating systems change so rapidly. I’m always about a year behind. But the creative process is all that really matters.

  4. These are amazing, Karen! I’m so impressed and so inspired. It’s important to remember how much focus and dedication (and patience!) to get to do what we love. Hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving!

    • Thank you, Clara! The learning process challenged me greatly at times. But I don’t regret the many hours required. Photoshop led me to a greater love of photography – the opposite of the usual path.

  5. Karen, I love your new layout designs! They make me want to get into scrapbooking! Maybe for one of my future nature challenges I’ll try to explore nature through scrapbooking! Could be interesting 🙂 Thanks for sharing your beautiful work!

    • Thank you, Tara! You could definitely make a nature journal incorporating scrapbooking techniques and supplies! I created a digital layout a few years ago that you might like to see. The title is “Gray in Nature” and I show three photos representing neutral, cool, and warm gray.

      I just uploaded the layout. You can see it at the bottom of my “Poetry of the Earth” post. In the archives select September 2011. I tried to add a link here but was unsuccessful!

  6. Fabulous layouts, Karen! You are so talented! I am currently working on some traditional scrapbooking projects for the holidays…one of these days I hope to follow in your footsteps and explore the digital realm. Thank you for the inspiration!

    • Thanks so much, Tricia! I love traditional scrapping too and sometimes combine with digital. Have fun with your current project and let me know when/if you decide to try digital. Chances are you will love it!