Visioning

photography and digital scrapbooking

The Versatile Blogger Award

17 Comments

The new year is less than a month away and it feels like the right time to tie up some loose ends. It has been a difficult year. One unwelcome event in particular will always define this year for me. I plan to share this information with you, but that can wait for another time. Positive events took place this year as well, one being the Versatile Blogger award which I received in September. At the time, I was only following a few blogs, so my ability to pass on the award was limited. I now follow several bloggers, including some who have received the Versatile Blogger award once or twice. For this post, I decided to single out those who will be first time recipients.

The rules for recipients are simple. First, they are asked to thank the blogger who awarded the honor. I am happy to say, “Thank you, Tricia Booker“. I am truly honored that you passed the award to me. I love your photos and your writing style. I see your work as beyond professional, incorporating a down-to-earth warmth that always touches my heart or makes me laugh.

Second, the recipients are asked to share seven details that are not readily known about him or herself. Third, the recipients pass the award to 15 other bloggers. The point is for recipients to champion blogs they enjoy on a regular basis, even if the total is less than 15. The fourth step is to notify the bloggers who are receiving the award.

Now, for the seven details about myself:

1. I am Mom to a son and daughter, both adults with careers they love. Nathan is an environmental attorney in Portland, Oregon and Amy is a Licensed Clinical Social Worker in Raleigh, North Carolina. Larry has been my husband for 24 years. He shares my love of nature and animals and always agrees to carry extra lenses or my tripod on photo shoots!

2. I grew up in Northern Ohio. We lived on a large Brown Swiss dairy farm operated by my father and grandparents. I did not have regular chores like most farm kids. Instead, I was expected to learn household tasks such as cooking, cleaning, and sewing. I often cooked for the family and occasionally made clothing for myself. I am glad to have learned those skills at an early age and still enjoy cooking.

3. I love dogs for the way they make human lives happier and healthier just by being companions. I love other animals as well and often think about emotions and intelligence I have observed in domestic and wild animals.

4. As a natural extension of #3, I only enjoy vegetarian and occasional fish meals. This has been my preference for about three decades.

5. The most influential person in my life was my paternal grandmother. I have many happy memories of her kindness and unconditional love. She was always delighted to see her three grandchildren. Fortunately, we lived within walking distance to her house and I was able to learn many things from her example. My grandfather was a kind, hard-working man with a great sense of humor. I am so lucky to have known my grandparents.

6. I was a majorette in high school. The marching band, football games, and a fun group of fellow majorettes were the basis for many fond memories and lasting friendships. To this day, I have never had so much fun!

7. I am a serious homebody. My love of photography has inspired me to go out and about more often these days, but basically I only like adventure in small doses!

The recipients of The Versatile Blogger award:

I hope you will click on each recipient’s link and spend some time enjoying posts by these talented bloggers.

Tita Bud’s Blog Tita Buds focuses on life, leisure, travel, food, and fun. I greatly admire her writing ability and lovely photos. Her sense of humor and creative writing make her blog absolutely delightful! (pronounce “buds” like “goods”)

Channeling Contessa Clara is an exceptional young food blogger. Her recipes and beautiful photos always interest me and her enthusiasm for cooking is inspirational. You will find a lot to love about her friendly, easy-going style.

WhatiPic David’s photography caught my eye several months ago. I enjoy his compositions and his image processing is always beautiful. In addition, his writing style is natural and sometimes a bit self-deprecating. I can often relate to his thoughts and dilemmas!

Tripsfor2 Hadi Dadashian and Kathleen Kenna offer a wonderful escape into the world of travel. Their beautiful photos and details about destinations are entertaining and informative. If you are looking for romantic travel destinations, this blog has it all. For me it is just about the dream of someday seeing the most beautiful places in the world. Dreaming is fun too!

Avian 101 H.J. is an avid photographer and bird watcher. He often posts interesting essays on common and exotic birds accompanied by his colorful photos from all over the world. H.J.’s blog and website has valuable information if you need details to help identify birds or simply want to learn more about the habits of birds.

Artful Explorations in Nature Tara has created a thought-provoking blog. Her eclectic posts and photos often explore ideas for incorporating nature in education. In Tara’s words, “A collage of ideas, tips, and conversations to inspire artistic explorations in the natural environment.”

Outdoor Guy Photography I discovered Dan’s blog recently and enjoy it immensely. His photos of midwestern landscapes and vintage buildings (and more) are beautifully composed and processed. I love these subjects and the midwestern locations appeal to me.

Murphy’s Test Kitchen Sarah is a busy young wife and science teacher. She posts delicious recipes for all types of foods including detailed instructions and photos. There is something for everyone!

Author: Karen Chandler

Metal clay jewelry, nature photography, and digital scrapbooking are Karen's passions. She is mostly self-taught, enjoying the learning process as much as producing her works of art. Karen's jewelry features fine silver, copper, and bronze. She sculpts and refines metal clay, then kiln fires her pieces and polishes them to perfection. The process allows for exciting interpretations of symbols, shapes, textures, and combinations of metals. A long time user of Photoshop, Karen loves to create digital layouts with her photos. Her layouts and albums are a diary of sorts; documenting milestones, recording happy times, and celebrating her love of nature.

17 thoughts on “The Versatile Blogger Award

  1. Karen,
    You’re a super nice friend and talented lady. You will always be an inspiration for others because you are there for everybody to give a nice comment or an encouraging advice.
    Thank you for considering my blog and myself. It means a lot to me. Thanks again!

    • You are welcome! And thanks so much for your kind words, H.J.! I do love to provide encouragement. I see so much talent in my friends and fellow bloggers. It is easy to admire their efforts!

  2. I loved reading those facts about you. No wonder you give out such positive vibes in your posts and comments — it comes from a good place. And I wasn’t much surprised to know that even your children are in professions that are making the world a better place. 🙂 I am so glad I found your blog.

    • Thank you so much, Tita Buds! What a wonderful comment to read first thing this morning! I am so proud of Nathan and Amy. I often think about how they both work to make the world a better place. They see satisfying results sometimes, but often their work is difficult and frustrating with progress being slow to emerge. I’m not only proud, but in awe of the selfless ethic that drives their commitment to the earth and families.

      I love your blog as well and count you as a friend. I am amazed that creating this blog has allowed me to meet so many wonderful people!

  3. Pingback: Let’s Not Talk Food « Channeling Contessa

  4. Congratulations Karen, this is well deserved!!!

  5. Thank you, Karen! It’s morning where I am but after reading what you wrote about me, I don’t think I’ll be needing as much coffee today. 😀

  6. Thank you Karen for including me in this elite group.I am truly glad that you enjoy my work, it means a lot to me. As for the versatility part, I thought that I just couldn’t make up my mind very often, but versatile…..yeah, that sounds better. I’ll be sure to carry on the torch in the new year after my 365 is over and my “day job” slows down a little. Thanks again.

  7. Wow, what kind words and a wonderful blog post! I apologize for the delay in responding. It’s so wonderful to read more about you and to learn about your background. Growing up on a dairy farm sounds just wonderful. I have early memories of spending time on my relatives’ Indiana farms. They were some of my favorite summer vacations.

    I will enjoy visiting the bloggers you honored! Your award was so well deserved!

    • Hi Tricia! Thank you for the comments and I’m glad you enjoyed the post! It was great to grow up on a farm. We had almost 400 acres to explore and a little pond to catch a few fish. I have some old photos that might be fun to post at some point.

  8. We were thrilled to receive this award. Thanks so much, Karen. We’re humbled by your kind comments about tripsfor2.

    We (finally) posted about the award today: http://tripsfor2.wordpress.com/ so are sharing your generosity with more WordPress readers.

    Tomorrow, we’ll post about the 15 other blogs we like … after yours, of course.

    with gratitude, Hadi and Kathleen

  9. Pingback: Bloggy Blog Blog « Outdoor Guy Photography