Visioning

photography and digital scrapbooking

Tufted Titmouse and Carolina Chickadee

21 Comments

Little birds are visiting our window feeder this winter. Peanuts and a few dried cranberries added to the seed mix have kept them active, especially mornings. The cloudy, rainy weather has been a photography frustration since attaching the feeder. But I was able to take a few photos and plan to try again when different birds visit and the light is better. A male cardinal flew in for a closer look, but has not actually fed from the feeder, as far as I know.

I learned from researching these birds that the Tufted Titmouse nests in tree holes and stores seed and nuts in winter. They shell sunflower seeds before hiding them. Normally found in the eastern half of the United States, Tufted Titmouse pairs remain in their territory through the winter.

Carolina Chickadees live in the southeastern United States. Pairs bond in small flocks and defend their territories against other flocks throughout the year. These tiny birds excavate a tree hole, or choose a cavity for nesting. They normally choose seeds and nuts from a feeder and carry it to a branch to eat. Tufted Titmice associate with the Carolina Chickadees, but are dominate over them.

Photos: Canon 60D, tripod mounted.

Author: Karen Chandler

Metal clay jewelry, nature photography, and digital scrapbooking are Karen's passions. She is mostly self-taught, enjoying the learning process as much as producing her works of art. Karen's jewelry features fine silver, copper, and bronze. She sculpts and refines metal clay, then kiln fires her pieces and polishes them to perfection. The process allows for exciting interpretations of symbols, shapes, textures, and combinations of metals. A long time user of Photoshop, Karen loves to create digital layouts with her photos. Her layouts and albums are a diary of sorts; documenting milestones, recording happy times, and celebrating her love of nature.

21 thoughts on “Tufted Titmouse and Carolina Chickadee

  1. Love Your Photos:) I love watching and photographing birds, especially birds of prey – just interesting creatures. We have a quail family that visits our yard and sometimes they are just hillarious to watch. One was pecking at his reflection in our screen door one time – we thought someone was at the door. Thanks for sharing!

  2. I’ve also been shooting these little birds this week. I’m waiting for a sunnier day so I can use my teleconverter. I like you photos, especially the DOF used, and the idea of a window feeder. Great to learn about their dominant features, too. I’ll watch their interactions more closely now!

    • Thanks, Tricia! Also looking forward to some sunny days. The Tufted Titmice sometimes eat their peanuts and seeds at the feeder, but the Chickadees take off after grabbing a treat.

  3. The chickadees are favorites… such little pretty fellows!

  4. Good shots you got there Karen! Be patient the seasons go by so quickly!

  5. I find this bird so cute, and your photos made it even more cuter. Recently, I saw this bird on Bob Zeller’s blog. I think I have read your comment there.

    Titmouse is too cute and pretty. Great photos, Karen! šŸ™‚

  6. Lovely images. Wish I could manage my D60 as well as you do.

  7. I love the DOF on these, too, and one can hardly tell it was a cloudy day when you took them.
    As for those birds, it’s fascinating how they shell the sunflower seeds before putting them away! Clever Mother Nature. šŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Tita Buds! The dry leaves and green ivy in the backyard made a colorful background after I edited the RAW photos. The aperture was set to 5.6 and I used my 200mm prime lens to get this bokeh. To focus properly, I had to move about 8 feet away from the window. As with my hummingbird photos, I asked Larry to hold an object at the area where the birds normally land. I focused on the object (the cap of a mop handle), then just waited until a bird came into that plane of focus. I don’t know if this is a correct technique, but I am not able to achieve focus any other way. The birds move too quickly to allow manual focusing and auto focus does not work either. Auto ends up focusing on the front edge of the feeder, or the backyard.

    • Thanks, David! I love seeing close ups of birds. I hope to photograph wrens, sparrows, and others soon. We still have dark, rainy days here. It has to lighten up soon!

  8. Pingback: January 11, 2012 « Tricia Booker Photography

  9. Great photos of 2 of my favorite birds! They provide good entertainment all winter long.

  10. Pingback: Northern Cardinal with Babies « Creative Musings