Visioning

photography and digital scrapbooking

Digital Art Journaling

12 Comments

My latest digital products represent a style that is new for me – art journaling. Paint and paper art journal pages usually have a handmade, artsy look. Keeping that in mind, I worked with real and Photoshop paint and let my creativity take me where I had never dared to go!

No rules apply when designing art journal pages. Typically, they are about feelings or subjects that are close to the artist’s heart. I like to use my photos for these layouts, although I also enjoy using Photoshop brushes or other images as focal points. Journaling is usually featured prominently, but a title or few words can also communicate the message. Sometimes I find it difficult to journal in sentences and it becomes a stumbling block. That is when a quote works for me or sometimes I write a simple poem. I am fond of haiku, especially a variant containing 15 syllables, two lines and two breaks.

Update: Digital scrapbooking products by Karen Chandler are no longer available.

Click on the first image to open the gallery.

  • “Home”, “Family”, “Nature’s Place”, “Lost Confidence”, “Treasure Trees”, “Understand the Past” digital scrapbooking layouts by Karen Chandler uses:
  • Digital supplies by Jessica Sprague and Nancy Rowe Janitz. The supplies are provided as part of an inspiring class on digital art journaling.
Author: Karen Chandler

Metal clay jewelry, nature photography, and digital scrapbooking are Karen's passions. She is mostly self-taught, enjoying the learning process as much as producing her works of art. Karen's jewelry features fine silver, copper, and bronze. She sculpts and refines metal clay, then kiln fires her pieces and polishes them to perfection. The process allows for exciting interpretations of symbols, shapes, textures, and combinations of metals. A long time user of Photoshop, Karen loves to create digital layouts with her photos. Her layouts and albums are a diary of sorts; documenting milestones, recording happy times, and celebrating her love of nature.

12 thoughts on “Digital Art Journaling

  1. Karen, I have absolutely no idea how these are made, heh, but I love the end products, especially the ones with the kids and the bird pictures and the ‘hug’ on the trees. 🙂

    • I’m glad you enjoyed the layouts, Tita Buds! They are created in layers in Photoshop. Digital papers and embellishments are opened in Photoshop and arranged as desired. All elements of the layout can be recolored and transformed in numerous ways. I love being able to use my photos to tell a story!

  2. Very nice! I saw the quote about friends and made it into a paper in a frame to give to friends. Very special. Another great poem that I can imagine as “your art” is entitled “My LIfe is but a Weaving.” I think you would like it. Thanks for sharing your creativity. Makes me a little jealous and a little inspired to try something, too!

    • Hi Laura! I’m glad you enjoyed the layouts. So glad the quote inspired you to make gifts for your friends. I love that quote too. I googled the quote you mentioned – wonderful! I can definitely see that quote on a layout and will be creating one soon. Thank you for the idea!

  3. Wow, Karen! This is awesome!! You are so talented. I love these pages…your work does inspire me to sweep away all of the scrapbooking materials I have on my dining room table and try digital. So amazing! They are all so wonderful, but I have to say the Little Bird is my favorite 🙂

    • Thank you, Tricia! You should try digital! It can be a fun compliment to traditional scrapbooking by adding embellishments after printing the digital layout. Another way to incorporate digital is to add a digital frame, texture, or text to a photo, print, then add embellishments as desired to complete the layout.

  4. Wow! This is amazing! I absolutely love this, Karen!

  5. Wonderful post! I love your art, and also feel haiku is a form which surely allows for new ideas and ways of writing.

  6. Whoa! Excellent work, Karen!