Visioning

photography and digital scrapbooking

Photographing My Flower Garden

21 Comments

Spring 2012 brought perfect conditions for my flower garden. I am taking advantage of the comfortable temperatures to photograph the prettiest flowers and practice various compositions. I love macro shots, but also enjoy seeing a bit of the background where the flowers grow. After composing a few macro shots, I placed my tripod eight to ten feet from the flowers. Using a focal length of 200mm and small apertures (f11-f20), I obtained a greater depth of field and produced a glimpse of the area behind the flower groupings.

The Hydrangeas are just starting to bloom, and Gardenia blossoms will be next. I am watching the Gardenia closely for another reason – a cardinal couple built a nest there. Two little babies hatched yesterday! I stay away from the nest to avoid scaring the birds, but if I get a chance I will photograph the babies soon.

Author: Karen Chandler

Metal clay jewelry, nature photography, and digital scrapbooking are Karen's passions. She is mostly self-taught, enjoying the learning process as much as producing her works of art. Karen's jewelry features fine silver, copper, and bronze. She sculpts and refines metal clay, then kiln fires her pieces and polishes them to perfection. The process allows for exciting interpretations of symbols, shapes, textures, and combinations of metals. A long time user of Photoshop, Karen loves to create digital layouts with her photos. Her layouts and albums are a diary of sorts; documenting milestones, recording happy times, and celebrating her love of nature.

21 thoughts on “Photographing My Flower Garden

  1. Beautiful flowers! I love the variety you have in your garden. My first clematis bloomed this morning, so I’m a bit behind. I really like your snapdragon images; I remember growing them as a child. The colors just pop on all of them!

    • Thank you, Tricia! The snapdragons are my favorite! They are taking up a large portion of one raised bed garden, but I don’t want to transplant them while they are blooming!

  2. Beautiful Karen! I love the cardinal nest photo! Paul and I were just saying recently that we have never seen one of their nests.

    • Thanks so much, Christy! To keep disruption to a minimum, I took the nest photo with my compact camera. I used several filters on the photo for warmth and contrast. The original JPEG photo had cool tones and after processing the eggs remained pale blue. I like how they look in the photo, but the actual color was ivory with brown spots.

      • Updating my comment above: After doing some research, I learned that some cardinal eggs do have a blue or green tint. I was not able to see the tint when I peeked in the nest.

  3. Beautiful photos – thanks for sharing! I think we found a quail nest today. Have a Great Weekend!

    • Thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed the photos. I would love to see a photo of the quail nest! Apparently the smaller cardinal egg in the photo did not hatch. I only saw two baby birds.

  4. My goodness you’re a gardening champ! Applause !

  5. Wow Karen these are beautiful images! You have a good eye!!! Thanks for sharing! Now I really really can’t wait till things start to bloom up here…you guys are way ahead of us!

  6. The flowers in your garden are so beautiful. Looking forward to seeing the babies when it’s safe to do so. 🙂

    • Thanks, Robin! I will wait about a week, then take a quick peek and another photo. They will look cuter after they open their eyes and grow some feathers! We now have a juvenile hummingbird stopping by every day. So I hope to take some hummingbird photos soon.

  7. It would be impossible to choose a favorite Karen. I wanted a closer look so I enlarged the photos and they became even more beautiful. Your colors are brilliant and your photography skills are superb.

    • Thank you, Joyce. Great to hear from you! I love photography and usually shoot RAW format. Can be time consuming to edit but I enjoy that part too! The photos were edited in Lightroom, except the nest which needed some help from Nik filters.

  8. Such beautiful flowers, my honeybees would love your garden,

  9. The white foxgloves are especially lovely. It is always a delight looking through your photos, Karen. And I always make it a point to read your replies to the other comments because you are so generous with your expertise. 🙂

    • Thanks, Tita Buds! I love the white blossoms too. Of the twelve plants, just one is white. The first bloom of the season is finished, so I will cut the stalks. It will be interesting to see if the plants flower again this summer.

  10. Beautiful photos! Looking forward to future pics!