Visioning

photography and digital scrapbooking

Holmes County: Old Farm Buildings Part 2

12 Comments

Holmes County, Ohio Part 2 includes an abandoned farm that was most recently owned by an Amish farmer. The first 6 photos are from that farm. Portions of siding are missing from the barn – probably an act of vandalism.

The last two photos show the house and part of the farmland near Shreve where my grandparents lived until 1958. When I look at the house, I can imagine my beloved Grandmother walking to the garden behind the house to cut rhubarb or pick beans. The outside of the house and yard has changed little since those days, except for new construction on the right side of the house. Obviously a fresh coat of paint would make the house look better. The last photo is a small part of the view from the yard. The view has not changed. I think that is remarkable and wonderful!

Author: Karen Chandler

Metal clay jewelry, nature photography, and digital scrapbooking are Karen's passions. She is mostly self-taught, enjoying the learning process as much as producing her works of art. Karen's jewelry features fine silver, copper, and bronze. She sculpts and refines metal clay, then kiln fires her pieces and polishes them to perfection. The process allows for exciting interpretations of symbols, shapes, textures, and combinations of metals. A long time user of Photoshop, Karen loves to create digital layouts with her photos. Her layouts and albums are a diary of sorts; documenting milestones, recording happy times, and celebrating her love of nature.

12 thoughts on “Holmes County: Old Farm Buildings Part 2

  1. Wonderful pics, especially meaningful to you with those great memories. Next you’re up this way, please let me know. My wife and I would love to meet you.

    All the best,

    Bruce

  2. Beautiful Karen! What a wonderful collection of photos. Oh the stories these places could tell?

  3. These are wonderful images, Karen, you’re making me want to go on a back road trip!

  4. I love these Karen…you know me and old buildings. Gee the stories these places could tell. I especially like the shot of the barn with the house in the background and the curvy driveway. another fav is barn in the field…oh, and the side view of the house. Sorry for being so late with this…Wordpress has been skipping over a lot of the blogs I follow so until I go through the list I miss out on a whole bunch of good stuff!

    • Thanks, David! The abandoned farmhouse with the curvy driveway was in good shape. Would have been fun to explore for photo ops inside, but I’m sure the doors were locked. Besides, I heard (or thought I heard) a clunk sound inside when I was shooting the window. That freaked me out and made me want to move on quickly!

  5. Fascinating, Karen. 🙂 I loved these.