Visioning

photography and digital scrapbooking

Autumn Winged Things

24 Comments

Changes are in the air and the winged things are even more delightful to watch. Hummingbirds are frantically active; chattering and fighting over the feeders we provide for them. They are molting at this time of year. We sometimes see tiny feathers fall as they hover near the feeders. I found one and saved it.

Carpenter bees are desperate to find the last grains of pollen. They especially like the sedum and basil flowers. This female worker was aware of my presence and constantly adjusted her position to face me and stay a comfortable distance. Persistence on my part paid off when she let down her guard for a moment.

Yellow leaves have already begun floating into the yard. We will have a lot to rake or blow into piles and bag. But I don’t mind. I like the exercise and being outside in the cool autumn air.

Numerous butterflies were a constant and welcome sight this summer. They are still visiting the butterfly bush from early morning until almost dark.

Summer went by quickly. But autumn is my favorite season, so I am welcoming it and getting ready to make some changes myself. Enjoy your week and remember to peek at the little winged things if you have them nearby!

Author: Karen Chandler

Metal clay jewelry, nature photography, and digital scrapbooking are Karen's passions. She is mostly self-taught, enjoying the learning process as much as producing her works of art. Karen's jewelry features fine silver, copper, and bronze. She sculpts and refines metal clay, then kiln fires her pieces and polishes them to perfection. The process allows for exciting interpretations of symbols, shapes, textures, and combinations of metals. A long time user of Photoshop, Karen loves to create digital layouts with her photos. Her layouts and albums are a diary of sorts; documenting milestones, recording happy times, and celebrating her love of nature.

24 thoughts on “Autumn Winged Things

  1. Wow! What fabulous photos – your garden must be a fun place to be. I saw my first ever Mourning Cloak butterfly today, and was very excited.

    • Thanks, Sid! I do enjoy our flowers. And the little winged things have enjoyed them too. I am curious about the Mourning Cloak butterfly – off to do some research. I am glad you got to see one!

  2. VERY cool images! I looooove the little hummingbird. Very well captured 😀

  3. Fantastic photos Karen!!! The trees are starting to change up here also and the leaves are already gathering on the driveway. That’s ok by me too…Autumn is my favorite time of year!

    • Thanks, David! Finally getting a little cooler here – happy about that! Will try something different this fall – growing vegetables through fall and winter. Our winters have been so warm the last couple years – might as well give it a try!

  4. Superb photos! I especially love that Tiger butterfly image, Karen. 🙂

  5. Stunning wings! Loved the leaf too. 🙂 Beautiful photography, Karen!

  6. Beautiful images! I especially like the hummingbird in this series. He really looks like he’s staring right into the lens! I think my hummingbirds are gone. I haven’t seen them for a few days now, and the level on the feeder seems stuck at halfway.

    I just put out a seed feeder to prepare for the fall and winter birds. Time to think cardinals and chickadees!

  7. These are incredible photos, Karen! I especially like the detail you’ve captured with the bee. Sounds like you’re enjoying the changing season. Keep well!

  8. Beautiful images, Karen! Love that hummingbird. Wow!

    • Thank you, Karen! The little guy was molting – so he looked kind of rumpled! I brought sprigs of rosemary in the other day and found a hummingbird feather attached to the leaves. Made me smile!