Visioning

photography and digital scrapbooking

Purple Tulips

4 Comments

My purple tulips were at their peak of beauty yesterday. The late afternoon sunlight was changing fast, so I wasted no time getting my tripod set up and testing different compositions.

Because I was only focusing on purple, I did not notice the azalea flower buds behind the tulips. When I downloaded my photos, I was surprised to see the reddish spots in the mostly green bokeh. I included two of those photos, since I could not decide which one I liked best!

Author: Karen Chandler

Metal clay jewelry, nature photography, and digital scrapbooking are Karen's passions. She is mostly self-taught, enjoying the learning process as much as producing her works of art. Karen's jewelry features fine silver, copper, and bronze. She sculpts and refines metal clay, then kiln fires her pieces and polishes them to perfection. The process allows for exciting interpretations of symbols, shapes, textures, and combinations of metals. A long time user of Photoshop, Karen loves to create digital layouts with her photos. Her layouts and albums are a diary of sorts; documenting milestones, recording happy times, and celebrating her love of nature.

4 thoughts on “Purple Tulips

  1. I can’t decide on a favorite either so I’m glad you posted all of them. Your macro lens is super but it’s only as good as the photographer . . . so my compliments to you and to Mother Nature for her beautiful creations! It snowed in Missouri today, sigh . . .

  2. Really beautiful photographs, Karen. I like the colours in the background, too. Your header photo is just wonderful and goes so well with the theme. Do you know what kind of bird it is?

  3. Thank you, Cate! The bird is a Northern Mockingbird. They are common here in Georgia and many other places in the US. They sometimes sing loud, elaborate songs for hours at a time during the day and night. They can mimic the songs of other birds and sounds such as barking dogs, whistles, etc.